The Niger River and a tributary divide the 3 main regions of Nigeria

Three regions, three main ethnic groups

Geographically and culturally, Nigeria is divided into three distinct regions by the Niger River and a tributary: Majority ethnic (tribal) populations are generally recognized to reside in these regions. In the North, Hausa; the West, Yoruba; and Southeast, Igbo. Articles found by referring to the sub-menu items of ABOUT NIGERIA, above, provide a brief selection of various areas and conditions in Nigeria.